Chief Ministers announced to 5 states after elections

Assembly elections were held in 5 states recently. After the results were declared, winning party has elected their chief minister candidate. In order to form a government, the political party must win 50% seats in elections. Oath of chief minister and ministers are given by governor of state. Let’s have a look at the assembly results of these 5 states.

Uttar Pradesh (Capital: Lucknow)

In Uttar Pradesh, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 255 seats out of 403. The state has been led by the current Chief Minister, Yogi Adityanath, since the last Assembly elections. He will continue to be chief minister this time also.

Punjab (Capital: Chandigarh)

In Punjab, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won 92 seats out of 117 seats. This gave them a clear majority. This is the first time that AAP has formed a government in Punjab. The Chief Minister of Punjab will be Bhagwant Mann.

Uttarakhand (Capital: Dehradun)

In Uttarakhand, the Bhartiya Janata Party won 47 out of 60 seats. Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami, who is the current Chief Minister, will continue.

Shri Dhami has lost his legislative assembly election. He will now have to contest and win an election to join the Vidhan Sabha (Legislative Assembly) within 6 months.

Manipur (Capital: Imphal)

BJP won 32 out of 60 seats in the Manipur Assembly, getting a clear majority. The current chief minister, Shri N Biren Singh, will continue to be the Chief Minister this time also. 

Goa (Capital: Panaji)

In Goa, the BJP has won 20 out of the 40 seats in the Goa Assembly. In Goa, the current Chief Minister, Shri Pramod Sawant, will continue.

Post a Comment